Winky D & Jah Prayzah dominate Nama


Men of the moment, Jah Prayzah and Winky D were this year’s major highlights at the NAMA awards held at the 7 Arts Theatre in Avondale on Saturday.

Jah Prayzah, real name is Mukudzei Mukombe, emerged as the Outstanding Male Musician before scooping the Outstanding Album award with “Jerusarema”.

Wallace Chirimuko, popularly known as Winky D, saw his hit song “Disappear” being named the Song of the Year.


He also won the People’s Choice Award.

But the best winner of the night was the play “Chimbwido the Girl of War” that scooped three awards in theatre.


Actress Nyaradzo Nhongonhema got Outstanding Actress award while the production was voted Outstanding Theatrical Production. The award for the Outstanding Director went to Stanley Makuwe who wrote and directed the play.

However, music was the most popular genre as usual and some people were disappointed that Killer T, who was nominated in three categories, went home empty-handed.

Jah Prayzah thanks his fans after scooping the Outstanding Male Musician and Outstanding Album of the Year awards while his wife looks on

Jah Prayzah, whose “Jerusarema” album has hits like “Eriza” and “Chiname”, dedicated the awards to his fans.

JAH Prayzah

“I am grateful for the support I got from the fans, these are the people who have placed me where I am today with their continued support. It’s not me who chose myself but them so I thank them very much,” he said.

The fully packed event which saw the who is who in the arts industry thronging the venue was graced by the Minister of Rural Development, Promotion and Preservation of National Culture and Heritage, Abednigo Ncube.

This year’s edition saw a number of improvements being made, although many still feel the organisers of the awards have a lot of work to do for the prestigious event to retain its former glory.

Apart from the accolades several artists walked away with cash prizes in selected categories.

Other prizes included DSTV decoders, training contracts as well as fabrics.

The Government also chipped in with financial support.

Minister Ncube applauded the artistes for the “sterling” work they produced in the past year.

These artistes and all the artists in this nation are the reason why my ministry is working tirelessly to ensure that their livelihoods improve and they receive the worthy recognition for their excellent work,” he said.

Guests were entertained by several artistes who included Chipawo, Hope Masike, Gary Tight and Takakunda Mkundu as well as his father Mono Mkundu. Doc Vikela also send the crowd into frenzy by his ib-cracking jokes.

NAMA 2016 Winners list:


1. Literary Arts Awards

Outstanding First Creative Published Works

Chaotic by Samantha Chihuri

Outstanding Children’s Book

Tsuro naGudo: Misi yese Haifanani by Daniel Mutendi and Wilbur Kandiero [DanTs Media]

Outstanding Fiction

Textures by John Eppel and Togara Muzanenhamo [AmaBooks]

2. Dance Awards

Outstanding Male Dancer

Sean Mambwere (M & M Dance Factory)

Outstanding Female Dancer

Timikha Fisher (Breakthrough Productions)

Outstanding Dance Group

M & M Dance Factory

Outstanding Choreographer

Sean Mambwere (M & M Dance Factory)

3. Visual Arts Awards

Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work

Tears of a Woman by Mavis Tauzen

Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work

Happy Elephant by Farai T. Tandi

Outstanding Mix Media Work

The Dog and the Bone by Johnson Zuze

Outstanding Exhibition

Agostinho Neto Curated by Raphael Chikukwa at National Gallery of Zimbabwe

4. Spoken Word Awards

Outstanding Poet

Philani Nyoni

Outstanding Comedian

Doc Vikela

5. Theatre Awards

Outstanding Actress

Nyaradzo Nhongonhema in Chimbwido the Girl of War

Outstanding Actor

Gift Chakuvinga in The Taking

Outstanding Theatrical Production

Chimbwido the Girl of War by Stanley Mukuwe

Outstanding Director

Stanley Makuwe for Chimbwido the Girl of War

6. Film And Television Awards

Outstanding Actor

Anthony Tongani in Ngozi

Outstanding Actress

Chipo Mbizvo in Mwanasikana

Outstanding Music Video

Huyai Tinamate by Charles Mawungwa ft. Hope Masike

Outstanding Screen Production

Full Length Film

Mwanasikana directed by Beauty Nakai Tsuro

Short Film

Jane the Ghost directed by Learnmore Sibanda

TV Production

Tonight with Zororo directed by Nqobizitha Mlilo & Zororo Makamba

7. Media Awards

Outstanding Journalist Print

Beaven Tapureta The Herald

Outstanding Journalist TV

Sifiso Mpofu ZBC

Outstanding Journalist Radio

Josephine Mugiyo ZBC

Outstanding Online


8. Music Awards

Outstanding Female Musician

Selmor Mtukudzi

Outstanding Male Musician

Jah Prayzah

Outstanding Album

Jerusarema by Jah Prayzah

Outstanding Song

Disappear from Gafa Life by Winky D

Outstanding Promoter

Legends Sports Bar

9. Special Awards

Stephen Chifunyise

Nhimbe Trust

10. Peoples Choice Award

Winky D

Comment with your Facebook